Continental Shelf Research

On 29 April 2009 the Icelandic government delivered a partial submission to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS), which covered the western and southern part of the Reykjanes Ridge and the Ægir Basin area, outside 200 nautical miles.

In 2012, a Subcommission to evaluate the Submission from 2009 was established, and the Icelandic team presented the Submission, both to the Commission and the Subcommission, early in 2013. During February 2013 to March 2014, a team from Iceland met with the Subcommission in order to develop a common understanding of the final outer limits in the areas covered by the Submission.

Experts from ÍSOR have also assisted in negotiations for areas where countries have overlapping claims. This extends as far back as the 1981 Iceland – Jan Mayen (Norway) agreement, but also includes the agreement between Iceland, Norway and the Faroe Islands (Denmark) (20 September 2006) in the Ægir Basin area (Banana Hole), the agreement between Iceland and Greenland (Denmark) (16 January 2013), and also the ongoing negotiations for the Hatton-Rockall area between Iceland, the Faroe Islands (Denmark), United Kingdom and Ireland.

The Executive summary can be read here below.